laurasmoments.reismee.nl

142/365

Hi everyone,

Yet another stupid blog post to get my mind off things. Let me tell you about my week so far. We had an assembly on Monday. During lunch. On uniforms. Are you kidding me? That speech was one of the most ridiculous things Iā€™ve ever heard in my life. And most of you know who my friends are. Go figure. Iā€™m not saying that the whole uniform thing is stupid. No, that entire speech just didnā€™t make any sense. We even got compared to soldiers. And now, when taking the role, teachers have to indicate when students arenā€™t wearing their correct uniforms. ā€œOf particular concern are students not tying hair back, black sneakers, multiple earrings or rings and/or nail polish.ā€ And what happens to the students that are added to the list? They have to go to a ā€˜Lunchtime Uniform Attitude Readjustment Session.ā€™ The sessions are being held each day. Iā€™m not making this up, not even my imagination is that far-fetched. Itā€™s safe to say we had a splendid remaining lunchtime complaining about that assembly. Ah man, this schoolā€¦ Good stories, though. Thereā€™s no denying that.

Todayā€™s Thursday and Iā€™m yet again drowning in homework. And apparently Iā€™ve got exams in two weeks time? How to stress me out in four words or less: Exams in two weeks. Great. Tomorrow isnā€™t gonna be much fun either. Assembly first period. Fun. I do have a study last period, though. And what do I do when I donā€™t have to pay attention in class? I watch Supernatural. Such a good show. This is why I like having a school laptop. Anyway, I have absolutely no idea what else to say, but I need to write something just to get my mind off things for a bit. Iā€™ve had a couple of rough nights, so Iā€™m hoping tonight will be different. I donā€™t know whatā€™s up with me today, I really donā€™t. Or maybe I do but letā€™s not open that door. You know, Iā€™m so sick of hate in this world. Why is it so goddamn hard to just be kind to one another and accept each other just the way we are? What others decide to do with their lives is none of your business. Stay out of it. Donā€™t judge people before knowing their stories. Just donā€™t be a dick. It wonā€™t hurt you, really.

Thereā€™s this quote I read the other day and itā€™s one of the best things Iā€™ve read in quite some time. ā€œInstead of saying ā€œI donā€™t have timeā€ try saying ā€œItā€™s not a priority,ā€ and see how that feels. Often, thatā€™s a perfectly adequate explanation. I have time to iron my sheets, I just donā€™t want to. But other things are harder. Try it: ā€œIā€™m not going to edit your rĆ©sumĆ©, sweetie, because itā€™s not a priority.ā€ ā€œI donā€™t go to the doctor because my health is not a priority.ā€ If these phrases donā€™t sit well, thatā€™s the point. Changing our language reminds us that time is a choice. If we donā€™t like how weā€™re spending an hour, we can choose differently.ā€ Such a great quote and so true. I need to think like that more often. It will definitely change the way I look at things.

Speaking of priorities, Iā€™m not gonna bother with the homework anymore. And if I choose not to study for a test, then thatā€™s the way it is. It stresses me out way too much and itā€™s not like Iā€™ll be here till the end of the year anyway. I literally only do the work because I donā€™t want my teachers to hate me. Kiana and Andy told me to stop caring and theyā€™re right. The teachers wonā€™t remember me anyway. Iā€™ll have another two more years of high school after this. Two more years of assessments, homework, tests and exams. Let me have a couple of weeks without any of those things. But in saying that, I will not hesitate to blame Andy and Kiana if my teachers get mad at me. Weā€™ll see how it goes.

Itā€™s been a tough, long week. Still is. Good week when it comes to physical exercise, though. I quite like walking home. Although that might just be the illusion of doing something healthy for once. Either way, itā€™s better than taking the bus. And itā€™s free.

Enjoy your day and stay awesome,

Laura

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active