laurasmoments.reismee.nl

Late night thoughts

Hi everyone,


Another one?! I’m ready to go to sleep, but staying up for 30 more minutes won’t hurt. Home. That word has an entirely different meaning for me now. Right now, ‘home’ means this small town in South Gippsland. ‘Home’ is Victoria, Australia. I feel so lucky to be part of this family, and I can honestly say that’s exactly what they are to me; family. I could not have asked for better host parents or a sweeter sister. They easily make the list of greatest people I’ve ever met. There’s something extremely soothing about knowing I have enough freedom to just leave behind a town, a country, because I didn’t feel right. There are over 7 billion people on this planet who I have not met, and heaps of countries I have yet to visit. I was stuck in this insignificant town, being pressured into making decisions about my future, when I barely even knew who I was. I said goodbye to my parents, my brother and my dearest friends. I got onto a plane and went to live with total strangers. And look at me now. I’m not living with strangers anymore. “Home is where the heart is,” they say. Home is no longer one place. Home is with my parents and brother, with my closest friend and here, in Leongatha and at the end of the year, part of it will be in Canada.


I’m in my bed, listening to music and writing down every thought I want to share with you. Life can’t get much better than this. At this very moment, I wouldn’t want to change a thing. This is my life and let me just tell you that, right now, it feels like I’m never coming back. And I’d be okay with that. But in saying that, I am coming to terms with having to go back, in a way. It won’t be that bad. I have everything it takes to make sure it’ll be better than before I left. I’m not by any means saying that I want to go back. It’s just that I’m trying to make myself realise that it’s all going to be fine. I won’t even have to go straight back to school. There will be time for me to adjust and catch up with people. And besides, I’ve already got things planned for my first week back. I’ll be in London for a few days. That’s right, leaving the country again. The downside being that I’m kinda broke now, but it’s definitely worth it and I want to pay for it myself so I’m not gonna complain about the money. Great city, great company, it’ll be awesome.


I’ve spent the entire day trying to figure out who commented on my last blog. All I can say is that it’s not that difficult to actually use your own name, unless, of course, that is your real name but I don’t think your parents hate you that much. If they do, I apologise, you can change your name as soon as you turn 18. To the kind stranger taking the time to comment: Thanks a lot, reading that made my entire week. It’s such a good feeling that people I don’t even know in person like reading my blogs and are nice enough to let me know. I quite like being judged based on my writing. Sure, I’ve said some stupid shit on here but at least I’m being honest.


Note: I wrote this last night, but I didn’t think it was long enough to post.


Today. Too much homework which freaks me out a bit. Don’t say a word, I’m not procrastinating. I’m just taking a 15 minute break. Yes, that’s what they call it these days. Also, Studio Art is fun but it makes me realise how incredibly untalented I am. Then there’s this History essay on a movie I haven’t even seen all the way through. Love it when that happens. Other than the productive things that need to be done, today was pretty good. Spent recess and lunch with Katherine and her friend. I’ve always liked Katherine a lot, so I’ll probably spend a fair amount of time with her in the next couple of weeks. And of course she doesn’t have Facebook. Guys, how am I supposed to stay in touch with any of you if you don’t have Facebook?! Not that you’re reading this, since you don’t know I have a blog. Wanna guess why you don’t know? That’s right, because you don’t have Facebook.


Still don’t know who posted the comment. Oh, new email. I love getting emails. Yeah okay, never mind. It’s the corrected version of the work plan (English class back home). Thanks for that. It’s not even that they’re kind enough to think of me or haven’t noticed me missing. No, they just haven’t removed me from the list yet. Gotta hate those automatic emails.


Can I just repeat myself and say that my host sister is awesome? Fucking love that kid. I don’t even have to say everything I’m thinking about, she just understands. And she has the best stories. I’m gonna miss her so much. Guess I’m gonna have to go to Canada now. I see no other option.


That’s about it for now. I should go back to doing homework. Oh, shout out to my Dad for calling my writing nonsense and to Travel Active for checking up on me. Very much appreciated. Not even being sarcastic.


Tell everyone you see today that I said hi. Everyone.


Enjoy your day,


Laura

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active