laurasmoments.reismee.nl

Roll with it

Hi everyone,

The holidays were great. We went to Melbourne and I really want to go back by myself soon. There's just something about walking around the city alone, watching people do their own thing, and getting lost. It's this overwhelming feeling, realising everyone has their own lives, their own stories, and their own troubles. It’s moments like those where I just want to get to know those strangers. Just sit there and talk to them for a few hours. Find out about their favourite childhood memory, favourite book, favourite song and their favourite season. What they think about at 2 am when they can’t sleep, and what makes them smile without fail whenever they feel down.

I'm about halfway through the actual High School program, so I'm pretty sure this is a good moment to get self-conscious and realise I need to do weird and stupid stuff before my parents get here in a few months. Dye my hair, get pissed, hook up with someone, get a tattoo/piercing, gate crash a party, crash a car, rob a bank. You know, fun things. I really am thinking of dyeing my hair, though. But not until this term is over, as I don't want school to hate me. Let me just tell you, going to Mary Mac is an adventure on its own. But the winter uniform is kinda cute, so they get points for that. I got at least four compliments today on how perfectly I tied my tie. Yeah, what can I say? I’m talented like that. Or, you know, it’s just really easy and takes about two seconds. Learn how to tie a tie, people. It’s an important life skill. You might need it someday to strangle someone.

You know what's cool? Drive-through bottle shops. Liquor stores are so much more fun when you don't have to get out of your car to get beer, wine, or whatever kind of booze you reckon is necessary to forget about your boring life. Don't get me wrong, I'm not judging. Just don't turn into an alcoholic, that's not fun. Want some fun alternatives? Sovereign Hill and dolphins. We went to Sovereign Hill about a week ago and it was awesome. It's an old gold mine and they've made it into this touristy place with an old town and everything. We did a mine tour which I really enjoyed. And dolphins. We saw dolphins the other day. That was pretty cool. Oh, and we went back to the Prom last week. Emus, wallabies, a wombat and a whale. Yeah, that’s right. I’m sure you can imagine that the thought of having to go back home is not so appealing. Though I am looking forward to seeing all of you again. Well, some of you.

I’ve had a pretty rough week, but I’m doing very well now. Just tired since it was the first day back to school after the holidays. This entire thing still feels like one big holiday, though. Well, most of the time. Probably because I treat it as a holiday. You can’t blame me. Oh, and I’m thinking of riding to school starting next week. I simply don’t see the point of taking the bus. It’s not far at all. But hills. I don’t like hills. I’m so out of shape, I’m almost ashamed of myself. Almost. The exercise will be good for me. (Watch me not getting on that bike because I’m a fat-ass and can’t be bothered.)

Today was a really nice day. It made me realise that I don’t mind going to school at all. Also, I got my History SAC result back and I actually did pretty well. What I don’t get is how I did not fail. I made everything up right on the spot. It was creative writing which did help, but still, it doesn’t make sense. If only it was that easy back home. But no, good grades just don’t happen when they actually count for something. I like getting good grades. Even more so when I didn’t do anything for it. My social skills are improving as well. Sort of. It’s about time. I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m very much an introvert, even more so than I thought I was. It’s not bad, though. It helps me understand other people better.

Anyway, that’s it for today. Hope you’re all doing okay and enjoying yourselves. Have a great holiday, or, by lack of a holiday, a great day/week/month/life,


Laura

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active